Why I love Indie by Terri Kinckner

Image

Big, top-selling famous authors are fine.  I mean, there’s nothing wrong with reading a book from someone who will end up in the literary classics section someday…but I honestly prefer Indie writers.  What are Indie writers anyway?Surprisingly, there isn’t even a wikipedia article on them. (this must be rectified)  An Indie writer is a writer who self-publishes their work.  E books have made a HUGE difference in the number of Indie writers, and it’s a wonderful thing.  Indie writers seem to write with a fresher approach, since they’re still connected to everyday people.  I am always thrilled when I see a brilliant Indie writer end up on the New York Times Best Seller List- it makes me feel as though the underdog that I was rooting for has won the race.

For a long time, Indie writers were virtually ignored by their backed-by-a-publishing-company peers.  I always wondered if they were that far outside the grasp of everyday reality, or if they were just intimidated by the creativity of these self-published authors.  It could be both, I’m no expert, I’m just a plain old middle-aged woman working 40 hours a week and aspiring to be….Indie.

I think the one thing that is wonderful about Indie authors, besides their brilliant writing, is their connection to their fans.  They really appreciate their fans, and the fans love them right back.  Indie authors are not above joining in the banter on their Facebook page, or participating in contests and donating “swag” from their current or past book series’.  This makes the fans more emotionally invested in their work.  They know they are appreciated.  They’re more likely to review a book on a site like Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or Goodreads.  Indie fans give reviews and promote their favorite authors with a fervor rarely seen these days, and Indie authors give back to their fans by way of appreciation and the occasional free offer, signed bookmarks, book posters, etc.

Indie is not just writing.  Indie writers bring fans into a fantasy world, give them characters they still think about (or pine for) long after the book or series are through.  They then keep those characters alive through blogs, Facebook, etc.  This makes these books more of an interactive experience, which in turn keeps the reader’s attention until the next book comes out, but it also provides writers with a lot of information they’d otherwise not know.  Fans aren’t afraid to voice their opinions on their beloved characters, and I think it really helps Indie writers make their wonderful books even better!

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is my very first blog post!
2 thoughts on “Why I love Indie by Terri Kinckner

  1. I’m sure there’s still a lot I don’t understand so far, but I look forward to learning 🙂

  2. Donna Rader says:

    Very impressive! Nice to have Indie writers explained. Love them!

Leave a Reply

