I Have People by Taylor Dean

A review by Terri Kinckner

I received this book free from the author in a giveaway. I loved this book. It’s really hard to explain anything about the book without giving crucial elements away. I know that this book hit extremely close to home for me, which made it all the more poignant. I laughed and cried along with Holly with every turn of the page. I understood her fear, and remember making the same internal rationalizations that she did. This is truly a fairy tale told in modern context!

Holly awakens from an eight month coma only to find out that she is missing memories for her life. Her husband lovingly recreates memories for her and gives her back her life… or so she thought. Things aren’t always what they seem. When she finally does remember what her mind shut out, earth-shattering revelations complicate everything.

I highly recommend this book. Holly is a very strong and wonderful lead character, and the people in her life are detailed beautifully. These characters became very real to me very quickly, both the good ones and the bad. This was a book that brought out every emotion in me, sometimes all at once!  I’m giving this book 4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

