Significance (Significance #1) by Shelly Crane

A review by Terri Kinckner

I loved this book! It’s rare when a book can grab me from the very beginning and not let me go until the end. When the relationship between Maggie and Caleb happened so fast, I wasn’t sure I would enjoy it, but in retrospect, it HAD to be that way to work with the story. The connection those two characters have right from the start is something I’m a little jealous of, but at the same time, I’m not sure I could actually share every part of my soul with someone, so that frightens me. It was nice to see that they too, had this dilemma. This made them more real to me.

I’m getting ahead of myself, let me explain what I can without throwing any spoilers in! Maggie is just an ordinary human girl, whose mother abandoned her shortly before her senior year in high school. Her father became depressed, lost his job, and was forced to work a lower paying job. To make matters worse, her longtime high school boyfriend dumped her just days after her mother left. Maggie spent her senior year tuning everyone and everything out, working at a diner to help make ends meet.

Caleb is not human. He’s what is called an Ace. An Ace has special abilities that surface when they find their soul mate and imprint on them. When Maggie pushes Caleb out of the way of a moving truck, they meet. It turned out that he is the cousin to Kyle, the boy she was on her way to meet up with. When they meet up with Kyle, Maggie and Caleb touch hands and the imprint happened. Imprinting causes them to instantly fall in love and to be in tune with each other’s thoughts, wants and needs. Since no Ace has imprinted in almost twenty years, this is both a blessing and a curse. Rival families are not happy about Caleb and Maggie’s imprint, and increasing powers and want to put a stop to it. That is all I’m going to give away 😉

The families in the stories are excellently portrayed. Maggie came from a broken family, struggling to just keep going day by day. It shaped who she was in the book, and her insecurities about her imprinted relationship reflected her parents’ broken marriage. Caleb, on the other hand, came from a large, loving family with financial security. This really helps to explain why he had no fear of the imprint with Maggie. It was apparent to me that they both complimented each other in every way, and I found myself constantly rooting for them.

There were quite a few typos, which annoyed me, but not to the point where it took away from the actual story. A few apostrophes where they didn’t apply, and a few words that were in the incorrect tense, etc. I really didn’t let them bother me too much, as I was incredibly engrossed in the story itself.

All in all, I’m going to give this book five out of five stars. I can’t wait to dig into the next book in the series!

Leave a Reply

