ICED by Karen Marie Moning

A review by Terri Kinckner

I waited for this book to come out forever… ok, so it really wasn’t forever, but it felt like it! The end of the Fever series left me feeling lost and lonely, wishing I was in Dublin fighting (and swooning over) fae. This book brought me back home!

Dani is a 14 year old sidhe-seer with super hearing, super strength and super speed. She also has a super brain, although not nearly as smart as her best friend, Dancer. Dani finds herself employed by (…um… what IS he anyway?) Ryodan, a nightclub owner with seemingly the same abilities as Dani, albeit he’s more advanced. His interest in Dani is obvious, although after reading the book, I’m not so sure it’s romantically… I could be wrong when I get to read the next book when it comes out, but that’s pretty typical with me trying to figure out Karen Marie Moning’s story line. Her best friend Dancer also seems interested, as does highlander turned fae prince Christian. It adds a creepiness factor to the story with all of these grown men lusting after her, but she handles it in typical teenager fashion. She is totally grossed out by the attention.

The story itself is quite riveting. There are two new fae, the Hoar Frost King and the Crimson Hag. That hag will haunt my nightmares! There is a new threat in Dublin, icing and killing everyone and everything in its path, and even the new king of the fae is afraid of it. Dani and Ryodan are working to figure out what it is, and how to stop it. Cruce is still wreaking havoc from his icy prison in the basement of the Abby, and it wouldn’t be a KMM book without sex. There isn’t as much sex as in the Fever series, and thankfully, Dani isn’t a part of those scenes at all. I’m glad she’s getting to grow up a bit before any of that happens with her. Jericho and Mac are in the book, but only bits and pieces, and very little dialogue from them. Although I miss them terribly, it’s nice to see that this is truly Dani’s book. Her character intrigued me in the Fever series and I’m glad I’m getting to know her better.

This book didn’t have the same ‘turn me on, stab me in the back, frustrate me, and leave me begging for more’ feel to it as Fever, but it’s ok. I’m sure with the next book, things will get a little more tense and Dani will begin to grow up and find the superhero woman she is… and I will be there with her for that. I can’t wait until the next one comes out!

This book gets 5 out of 5 stars from me!

 

Leave a Reply

