Apocalypsis by Elle Casey

A review by Terri Kinckner

Apocalypsis: Book 1 (Kahayatle) will be FREE for 3 days, Jan 17-19.  Just click on the picture to link to Amazon 🙂

Book description from Amazon:

APOCALYPSIS is a 4-book, YA Post-Apocalyptic series, beginning with Book 1, Kahayatle.

KAHAYATLE
My name’s Bryn Mathis. I’m seventeen years old, and I live in a neighborhood outside of Orlando, Florida. I live alone because my dad died almost a year ago, along with all the other adults in the world. I’m almost out of food and the gangs of kids that roam around my town are getting more vicious by the day.

It’s time for me to leave and find another place to live … a place where I can find food and shelter … a place where they won’t be able to find me.

Alone, it might have been possible; but now I’ve got company. I’m worried that I don’t have what it takes to get from here to my final destination.

And I have no idea what might be waiting for me when I get there.

**No drugs, or sex in this installment of the series. Yes, there is some violence and some foul language. This is in the DARK SCIENCE FICTION/HORROR/POST-APOCALYPTIC genres, featuring teen characters only. May not be suitable for younger, middle grade readers.**

My take:

I am already a huge fan of Elle Casey’s work, but I’m not typically a fan of apocalyptic books. I decided to read it anyway and was not disappointed! The characters are completely relatable, the action described vividly, and the details are revealed little by little and don’t overwhelm the reader. The idea of a world without adults intrigued me and left me wondering how my own teenage children would fare in this situation. Elle truly has a gift when it comes to making fantasy seem real. I read this book in one sitting (who needs to do housework anyway) and LOVED it! I am anxiously awaiting the next two books in this series!

I give this book 5 enthusiastic stars out of 5!

Leave a Reply

