Apocalypsis Book 2: Warpaint, by Elle Casey

A review by Terri Kinckner

This is the book description from the Amazon website:

APOCALYPSIS is a 4-book, YA Post-Apocalyptic series, beginning with Book 1, Kahayatle. This book, Warpaint, is the 2nd in the series. Exodus is the 3rd book in the series, and Haven is the 4th.

WARPAINT
My name’s Bryn Mathis. I’m seventeen years old, and I live in Kahayatle, otherwise known as The Everglades. I live with my three best friends and a tribe of Native American teens, because my dad died almost a year ago, along with all the other adults in the world.

We’re creating a whole new world for ourselves, but this world has problems. The biggest threat to our survival is not starvation anymore … it’s the gang of kids who lives nearby that has become more vicious than anyone could have imagined possible. The soulless demons have gone too far, and it’s time for us to rise up and do what needs to be done to set things right.

Alone, it might have been impossible; but now I’ve got friends.  I’m worried though, that I won’t be able to get them ready to fight in time, and that we’re taking on more of a challenge than we can handle right now.

And I have no idea what might be waiting for us when we arrive on their front doorstep.

**No drugs. Yes, contains violence, some foul language, and non-explicit sex scenes. This series is in the DARK SCIENCE FICTION/HORROR/POST-APOCALYPTIC genres, featuring teen characters only.  May not be suitable for younger/middle-grade teens.**

What I thought:

I absolutely loved Bryn, Peter, and Bodo in the first book.  When they reached the “safety” of Kahayatle (the Everglades), I was so happy that they had survived their journey.  Of course, the cliff hanger ending in book one made me need to read book two right away!  Elle Casey is a pro at ending books with cliffhangers, or as I like to call it in the case of my kindle, a digital sucker punch!

I love how the relationship between Bryn and Bodo grows.  The secret that he’s been holding out on is finally known and is one that I would never have guessed in a million years.  His accent and confusion with colloquialisms is hysterical in this book.  Just one of Bodo’s lines in the book that had me laughing is, “I didn’t say fucktart.  Dat was you.  You are the lady saying all the fucktart words today.  Or moron.  She likes dat one, too.  I think it means boy I luff.”  I couldn’t help but read his parts with Arnold Schwarzenegger’s voice in my head!

Bryn shows just how awesome she is, bringing peace to the native american kids and preparing their tribe to save others.  She is becoming as “bad ass” as Jayne is in the War Of The Fae and Clash Of The Otherworlds series that Elle writes.  She is very mature and centered for her age, excellent at krav maga fighting, and feels a great responsibility to help those around her.  She is every bit the hero in this book.

The character Peter is great.  I’m beginning to think of him as a Rain Man of sorts.  His ability to organize and remember things is “uncanny”  (I really had to throw that in, read the book and I swear, it’s funny!)  He seems to be getting braver in this book, and it’s nice to see a character evolve so much for the better.  I can’t wait to see what’s in store for him in book three and four!

In this book, we finally get to know the kids of Kahayatle better.  It’s amazing how Elle can make each and every one of the kids in the tribe real to me.  I really felt as though I lived right there with them.  They also became my friends (except that one girl I wanted to hurt! LOL).  I really look forward to getting to know these characters and also the newest characters that came at the end of the second book.

This book ended in a gut wrenching cliff hanger.  In fact, I already had book three in my kindle and less than 10 seconds after finishing book two, I was on to book three.  I seriously recommend buying this entire series!  Book four isn’t out yet, but I suggest buying one, two and three at the same time.  There is no way you can NOT read the next installment with Elle Casey right away.  She is THAT good!

I give this book five out of five stars!

Leave a Reply

