Apocalypsis Book 3: Exodus, By Elle Casey

A review by Terri Kinckner

Book description from Amazon

APOCALYPSIS is a 4-book, YA Post-Apocalyptic series: Book 1, KAHAYATLE; Book 2, WARPAINT; Book 3, EXODUS; Book 4, HAVEN (coming 2013)

EXODUS
My name’s Bryn Mathis. I’m seventeen years old, and my world has been turned upside down and inside out. I’m racing towards a future I cannot control.

I thought I had everything worked out, but then things changed. I thought we were all cut off from one another, but it turns out, we’re not.

They say people are talking, and word about me and what I’ve done is spreading like the virus that wiped out millions of people, leaving us teens alone to fend for ourselves. And depending on who you are, and what you eat for dinner, I’m either your salvation or your target.

**Contains violence, some foul language, some drugs, and non-explicit sex scenes. This series is in the DARK SCIENCE FICTION/HORROR/POST-APOCALYPTIC genres, featuring teen characters only. May not be suitable for younger/middle-grade teens.**

What I thought:

Brilliant!  I hurried right from book two to book three, and finished the book in a matter of hours.  I couldn’t pull myself away, no matter that it is Thanksgiving and I have tons to do.  Thanksgiving could wait!

At the end of book two, I was worried about Bodo.  He has become one of my favorite characters in this series.  I was happy to see that issue resolved… I was a little worried that Elle would make me wait until the end of the series to find out what happened to him, and I probably couldn’t wait until 2013 to know!

I love the friendship that Bryn and Winky have, their personalities are so similar, yet they keep each other grounded.  The new characters kept the story fresh, and I always love the way Elle creates her characters.  I have no idea how she can make each character’s dialogue, mannerisms, and personalities so unique and different from the others!

I knew it!!! That’s all I’m going to say about Peter and his personal life.  This development made me happy!  His character is so different from any character in Elle’s books.  It’s a wonderful step outside of the norm, and I absolutely ADORE Peter!

The people this group encounter while on their exodus were really interesting.  It gave me a feel for the emotional state of all of the survivors of this virus.  It was also heartwarming to see other groups out there that were trying to create a world worth living in, too.

Finally, the “waystation” with Sissy and Jimmy is really starting to be a great thing.  I hope these two characters are seen in book four!  From the Cracker Barrel, to the Everglades, to a prison;  who needs telephones and internet when you have a messaging network like they do!

I honestly couldn’t put this latest book down.  When my kindle battery died, I switched to reading it on my computer, then back again when it was charged.  I even read while I showered (don’t ask!). It’s really hard to write a review for this book without giving away crucial elements of the story, and I want everyone to enjoy the book as much as I did without any spoilers.

I give this book five stars out of five!

Leave a Reply

