Allusive Aftershock, by Susan Griscom

15796396

A review by Terri Kinckner

This book was amazing! Faced with a catastrophic series of earthquakes, Adela, her best friend Max, and classmate Courtland are left alone and struggling for survival. Courtland was a bit of an outcast, being able to understand the needs of animals better than the average person. Adela has spent her entire childhood swooning over Max, who only saw her as a friend, and Max has spent the last eight years hating Courtland after an incident that happened between these two when they were best friends.

The circumstances these young adults found themselves in were horrific, and were so well described that I often felt like I was right there with them through the earthquakes and subsequent aftershocks. Susan was able to bring these three young people to life for me, and I found myself rooting for them, mourning their losses, and reveling in their triumphs. I also love a book where the characters evolve into who they were meant to be. This is absolutely the case with this book! They certainly learned a lot about life and a lot about themselves!

This book had all the elements required to make a great, fast-paced read: love, hate, catastrophe, fear, and humor. I would most definitely recommend this book to anyone, young or old! There are some parts of the book that I thought might get too adult, but were actually not. In fact, I would be very comfortable having my own teenagers read this book, because of the excellent message it sends!

I give this book 5 stars out of 5!

One thought on “Allusive Aftershock, by Susan Griscom

  1. ladywolf2321 says:

    Thank you Terri for recommending this book! I read it start to finish in one sitting! I couldn’t put it down! Well had to for a few when everyone wanted to eat… How rude! It was an inspiring read also. Faced with adversity and what you do with it is a good lesson. Absolutely a 5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

