An Uncommon Surfeit of Lipstick, by Richard McGowan

16161822

A review by Terri Kinckner

I received this book in the mail yesterday as a winner in a Goodreads giveaway. At first, I was going to just glance at it and put it on the shelves with the other books to read and review until I finished the three books I was already reading at the moment. I was too intrigued to put it down.

First off, the cover and title are most definitely very female. The author, a man. I started to read it just to see how a man would write a book for women. Before I knew it the book was finished;  mere hours after I sat down with it.

This story is a fairy tale of sorts, but a hilarious, bizarre, and unique one. Trina Katrina Martini had no idea how much her actions had impacted others until she had to wear her shame in the form of very slutty, over-applied lipstick every single day. Her “Fairy Bad Mother”, Janet Guimpledrim (Bad Janet, to Trina) and motley bunch of fairy friends had me laughing through most of the book. The crazy things Trina both had to do and had to endure had me grinning, shocked, and pitying the poor girl that never had a bad day in her life until she was 21.

The story had a great ending, with Trina finding true love and her true self. I didn’t realize just how invested in these characters I was until the end of the book, and the book left me wanting more. I’m hoping that Trina’s sister’s story is told next, and I’m really curious to see what becomes of Trina and Connie in the future!

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

