Duality: Vol 1, Melancholia by Elle Casey

 

17675457

A review by Terri Kinckner

Book description from Amazon:  Malcolm’s had a problem for as long as he can remember. No matter where he goes or what he does, he leaves misery in his wake. Sadness and negativity are his constant companions, influencing others around him until they cannot bear to live.

But then Rae shows up in his life, and everything changes. Darkness cleaves to light. Anger yields to joy. The question is whether she’ll be his salvation or his destruction.

DUALITY is a 3-book Young Adult/New Adult Paranormal Romance. Volume 1 will be published April 30, Volume II May 31, and Volume III June 30, 2013.

My take:

This book was so different than any books of Elle’s I’ve read before, but it’s still Elle! I loved it! The characters were amazing (as usual) and their banter had me laughing SO hard through most of this book! Jazzy was by far my favorite character… who knew a “neutral” could be so awesome? Rae and Malcom were remarkably wonderful, considering their “gifts” (curses?). I just wanted to hug them both! I think I’d be a miserable rainbow, but hey… maybe they’d feel better! I’m not sure I’d be nearly as well adjusted as they were! They still had their fair share of teen angst and were written as such so accurately. I often wonder if Elle hides out in high schools listening to the interaction, because she is always so spot on! Kootch was hysterical, his and Jazzy’s conversations had me belly laughing and at the same time, I wanted to knock both of their heads together for not seeing the chemistry that was between them!

Speaking of chemistry… the chemistry teacher Holder and his lackey Derek were ultra creepy. Not only was their behavior creepy, Holder had a comb over. Gross AND creepy! I’m very interested to see exactly why they are after Rae, and what their game is! All in all, I loved this book. It’s unique, witty, scary at all the right places, romantic without being sappy, and had a cliffhanger ending! You all know how much I love those…seriously, I do!

I give this 5 rainbow stars out of 5!

4 thoughts on “Duality: Vol 1, Melancholia by Elle Casey

  1. Love this review, loved the book! And yes, comb-overs are creepy. Elle is amazing with character development! I thought this book was less cliffhangery than usual…

  2. jerichurch says:

    Nice review on a fantastic book! Someone tell Elle to stop everything else she has going in her life and WRITE! 🙂 We are anxiously awaiting the other books.

  3. Elle Casey says:

    Thank you, Terri!! Love the review. So happy you’re happy with the book. Writing something different is nerve wracking as I wait to see the reader response.

  4. Rosemary says:

    Great review, I am looking forward to the rest of the series 🙂 Elle Casey never ceases to amaze me.

Leave a Reply

